What would suit my face?..uhhumm Bhaiya.

Damn Nidaa , he’s a famous hairstylist in your locality everyone knows his name but you don’t.

Consequences of not getting a haircut for many years and letting your hair grow like wild grass (my mom used to trim my hair occasionally and we could save on the haircut bill. Frugality runs in our blood! 😉 .)

That day, I gathered all my courage or maybe I should say gaaaaaaaaathered ( yes I was that scared, and it took me that long) .

Umhmm let me see; and he turned my head to right then to left and then again right…making me even more anxious and uncomfortable.

‘Well,’ he exclaimed after minutely analyzing my hair ‘I can give you short steps here and a feather cut for this section in the front…or may be razor’. Now I’d be lying if I say, I hadn’t heard of those haircuts but I had absolutely no idea how they looked.

I made a timid face and looked at him. He instantly realized that I knew nothing of this haircut business and he could actually make my hair look like a bird’s feathers and I won’t say a thing.

FROM: >>>

s1

Then began the roller coaster ride. I felt a frisson of fear when the scissors first touched my hair, but there was no looking back. I had promised myself this haircut and had to fulfill it.

The next half hour was the most ‘’emotionally exhausting” half hour that I had had in a while. I could see my hair strands falling on the tiled floor. I was happy, sad, and nervous, scared, was trying to control my tears from rolling down and finally numb.

‘tan tanaa..it’s done!’ he exclaimed

Me-with-me talks: No, no shit I don’t want to open my eyes. What if I look like that wicked old woman from 101 Dalmatians (I take credits for the out-of-the-box imagination).

One eye half open…

Shut again

Ok girl, do it now; 1…2….3…..**boom**

 

Woah!

I looked different. My hair looked different.  I can’t comment whether they looked good or bad but I had never imagined myself like that, with such short hair.

My hair length had been reduced from around 3 feet to a few inches.

TO:     >>>download (1)


 

I was now ready to face the world- armed with my short hair.

I reached home and was all prepared to face the vehement outbreak.


EMOTIONAL ATYACHAR -1 : The Brother

Whyyyyy did you get them cut??

“Are you out of your mind?? This haircut looks horrendous. Your face shape is meant for long hair , no other style would ever suit you ” he smirked

I remained quiet to let things cool down. I gave him a chance to recover from his state of shock and apologize for the  act of gall.

Little did I know that this cursing the short hair, and subsequently my face features, my clothes etc. etc. cycle was to go on for another 4-5 days. Maybe that’s the life goal he was born with- Curse the Sister, and irritate the hell out of her!

‘But, I really loved your long hair Akka’ he said in the baby brother tone.

‘Maybe you should try and start loving me instead, for a change. Eh?’ Elder sister tone.

*facepalm*


 

EMOTIONAL ATYACHAR- 2: Parents

Long lectures of how long hair adds to the beauty of a woman and goes well with the Indian attire.

And blah blah blah..


EMOTIONAL ATYACHAR -3 : The Friends

> Why???? X 1000 times, That was the most common question asked.

A: I like it. My life, My rules.

 

> Send a picture.  X 500 times

A(cheesy) : No camera can capture my newfound beauty 😛

 

> Change is beautiful X 3 times

A: I love you too :*

 

> You used to have long hair ? X 5 times

A: Go Die -_-


Now, after 3 weeks of the H-day  😛

I’m here with some life lessons learnt in the process:

  • Change is indeed beautiful. Brings momentum in dull life.                                                Get frequent haircuts, get highlights , Use curling rods straightener  etc as much you as you want, choose eccentric colours- sea green, royal blue, honey blonde are some of my favourites and don’t worry  if nothing works out- just get them cut and you hair will grow back again, faster than you think 😉
  • Both long and short hair are beautiful in the own different ways.
  • When up for a haircut, do a research on what type of haircuts would look good on you. Though my stylist did my hair decently well , but then I’m lucky 😛
  • Contact me if and when you need motivation to join the short hair league.
  • LIFE’s too short for BOOORING HAIR 😀

 

Love
Nidaa

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment